Header Menu

Thursday, July 10, 2014

76) Shattered by Kevin Hearne

The Blurb :

For nearly two thousand years, there was only one Druid left walking the Earth—Atticus O’Sullivan, the Iron Druid, whose sharp wit and sharp sword kept him alive while pursued by a pantheon of hostile deities. Now he’s got company.

Atticus’s apprentice Granuaile is at last a full Druid herself. What’s more, Atticus has defrosted an archdruid long ago frozen in time, a father figure (of sorts) who now goes by the modern equivalent of his old Irish name: Owen Kennedy.

And Owen has some catching up to do.

Atticus takes pleasure in the role reversal, as the student is now the teacher. Between busting Atticus’s chops and trying to fathom a cell phone, Owen must also learn English. For Atticus, the jury’s still out on whether the wily old coot will be an asset in the epic battle with Norse god Loki—or merely a pain in the arse.

But Atticus isn’t the only one with daddy issues. Granuaile faces a great challenge: to exorcise a sorcerer’s spirit that is possessing her father in India. Even with the help of the witch Laksha, Granuaile may be facing a crushing defeat.

As the trio of Druids deals with pestilence-spreading demons, bacon-loving yeti, fierce flying foxes, and frenzied Fae, they’re hoping that this time . . . three’s a charm.

My Thoughts :

The Iron Druid Chronicles is one of the best reading decisions I have made over the last year.  I read the first book in the series last July while on holiday and then proceeded to listen to the rest of the series via Audible until I was all caught up.  Now, like every other Iron Druid fan, I have to wait for a new release and luckily I didn't have to wait long for this seventh installment to come out and I had Shattered on pre-order over on Audible.

Why Audible?  There are some books/series that are just so well narrated that you have to follow them on Audio book.  This series is one of them.  The narrator does an amazing job and brings the books to life.  His different voices/accents for the characters are the best I have come across and he puts so much feeling and energy into the reading that you can tell he is really enjoying himself as well as the story.  So if you like Audio books I really suggest listening to this series.  You won't regret it!

Shattered is the seventh installment and some things are coming back to bite Atticus on the arse this time around.  Some of his decisions, events he has been involved with and general actions since the series started begin to mess things up a little.  All his good intentions cause some happenings that he will hate himself for and also have consequences that will need a few more books to unravel.  As the reader you see some pieces of the puzzle clicking together and thinking oh bugger.  The only consolation is that there are now three druids and two hounds for the enemies to deal with as things get even more interesting.

This time around you can expect to have the story told from three different perspectives.  In the beginning the story was only told by Atticus but in the last couple of books Granuaile has also taken the reins.  Now there is a third druid involved so there is a third person telling their tale and it makes for even better reading.  The new addition may take some getting used to at first but Owen's attitude and education are hilariously funny and I have to say Oberon has some serious competition in the laughs department!

I don't want to go into details regarding the plot and happenings because it may spoil things for people who haven't started the series or who haven't gotten this far yet.   What I will say is that there is no room for disappointment.  Action, twists, revelations, fighting, death and a huge dollop of Paranormal Urban fantasy are all cooked up in this book.  Like all the previous stories there isn't a boring minute or a confusing moment.  It all makes sense in the end and there is no denying how great it is.

Now I have to wait for the next part.  Hopefully it will come sooner rather than later because I have immersed myself in the series for a whole year and will miss my regular visit to the series.  I may even have to listen to them all again if it takes too long for the eight installment to make it onto my iPod.  For anyone who has been on the fence about starting this series...take the leap and kick yourself for not doing it earlier.  That's what happened to me and feel it is my duty to keep telling anyone who will listen that this is a must read series and a definite winner in my top reads of the last year.

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

Amberkatze's Book Blog

No comments: